Interacting with friends and strangers can be a lot of fun with Snapchat. What would have happened if there had been rudeness, disrespect, or something downright creepy? A valuable feature of this app is that it lets you circumvent these users by blocking them. How would Snapchat users react if you stopped them?
Is blocking someone on Facebook a good idea? What is the best way to handle blocking someone? Furthermore, we will consider how Snapchat users restrict interactions with people they don’t want to interact with and discuss different ways they do so. What is your understanding of Snapchat? You can’t deny it!
What happens when you block a person on Snapchat?
If you block someone on Snapchat, is it possible for them to understand? There’s no chance of that happening. So long as you are on their friend list, you can receive snaps and messages. If a message is received, can I get a notification?
- You can’t access snapshots by that person
- You won’t be able to view their pictures
- You will not receive notifications about screenshots
- Blocked people will not be able to send messages
- Unopened snaps can still be considered before stopping someone
- Adding someone back to your friend list is the only way to unblock them
If your privacy has been compromised or you face any immediate danger, it is highly recommended that you contact law enforcement officials immediately.
How to block someone on Snapchat
Blocking someone on Snapchat is very quick and easy. This writing is aware of two methods of stopping someone. The practice of blocking someone should, however, only be used as a last resort.
If you are not ready to block someone, you do not need to learn these two techniques. In certain situations, they can be helpful.
Here are the steps on how to do both:
- Step 1: Open the Snapchat app and go to the Chat screen
- Step 2: Click their name under Contacts List to access their Profile Icon
- Step 3: In the pop-up menu, click More
- Step 4: Tap the Block button to confirm the settings
How to block someone on Snapchat via Chat
- Step 1: Open the Conversation List for the person under their profile under Chat
- Step2: To access the Gear icon, click the profile picture of the person (the three-dot hero)
- Step 3: Click Block to confirm your settings
How to unblock someone on Snapchat?
The ability to block or unblock someone is available on Snapchat. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us! Please let us know if you need assistance!
Here’s what you need to do:
- Step 1: Select Settings from your photo by tapping your profile icon
- Step 2: Scroll down the page until you find Blocked
- Step 3: Unblock the person by tapping the X next to their name and proceed.
- Step 4: Take a look at their public stories and chat history.
Alternatives to blocking someone on Snapchat
Whenever you block someone on Snapchat, they are automatically unfriended. If you think you’ll reconnect with them in the future, use alternative methods to secure them if you don’t want to attract awkward friend requests.
The following steps can help you minimize your interactions with that person:
- You can silence messages from specific users by clicking the three dots icon at the top right corner of their profile. When you tap on any message notification, it will be toggled to Silent.
- If you tap the shape you want to mute in the Snapchat contact list, you will find a mute icon at the top. Looking for the switch on the right side will allow you to toggle Mute Story. By pressing Mute, you can confirm your settings.
- You can access your profile settings by clicking on the cog icon (Settings) at the top right. Then select Contact Me under Privacy under “Who can…”. If you choose Friends, strangers will be limited from interacting with you.
Blocking someone on Snapchat is possible using the Snapchat app’s block option. You can navigate the app through its different sections to find peace of mind. If you continue receiving threatening messages, do not hesitate to contact your local law enforcement.